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Idaho Division of Human Resources 
Statewide Executive Branch Policy 
Section 10: Paid Parental Leave 
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10A. General Information 
 
State of Idaho employees within the executive branch may use up to eight (8) weeks of paid 
parental leave due to the birth, adoption, or foster care or kinship placement1 of a child. The 
purpose of this policy is to enable employees to care for and bond with a newborn, newly 
adopted child, or newly placed child in foster care or kinship care. 
 
Paid parental leave shall run concurrently with leave under the Family and Medical Leave Act 
(FMLA), as applicable. Any leave taken under this policy that falls under the definition of 
circumstances qualifying for leave due to the birth, adoption, or foster care or kinship placement 
of a child, will be counted toward the 12 weeks of available FMLA leave. An employee will be 
eligible for paid parental leave even if the employee has otherwise exhausted their FMLA time 
prior to the birth or placement of the child. If an employee becomes eligible for FMLA while on 
paid parental Leave, the employee must apply for and use FMLA. 

10B. Eligibility 
 
Eligible employees must meet the following criteria: 
 

1. Have been employed with the State of Idaho for at least 12 months during the past seven 
(7) years (the 12 months do not need to be consecutive); AND, 

 
2. Have worked at least 1,250 hours during the 12 consecutive months immediately 

preceding the date of the birth or adoption; AND, 
 

3. Be a benefit-eligible employee (work more than 20 hours per week and be expected to be 
employed for more than five months). 

 
In addition, employees must meet one (1) of the following criteria: 

 
1 PPL use for foster care or kinship placement is effective October 1, 2024. 
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1. Be a new parent by childbirth2; OR, 
 

2. Be the new adoptive parent of a child under the age of 183; OR, 
 

3. Be a parent of a child born by a surrogate mother; OR, 
 

4. Be an individual seeking to adopt a child after the birth of that child, but the adoption has 
not yet been finalized; OR,  

 
5. Be an individual actively approved to provide foster care or kinship and have an active 

and ongoing role in parenting the child in their care. 
 

10C. Use and Compensation of Leave 
 

1. Eligible employees will receive a maximum of eight (8) weeks (320 hours for full-time 
employees) of paid parental leave for the birth, adoption, or foster care or kinship 
placement of a child that must be used within 12 weeks after the birth, adoption, or foster 
care or kinship placement of a child. Eligible employees working less than full-time will 
receive a pro-rated portion of paid parental leave corresponding to the percentage of hours 
they normally are scheduled to work. 
 

2. An employee may not receive more than eight (8) weeks of paid parental leave in a rolling 
12-month period. Multiple births within twelve months or adoptions or foster care or kinship 
placements do not increase the length of paid parental leave.  
 
Employees may use paid parental leave continuously for eight (8) weeks or as a pre-
defined reduced work schedule as long as it is used within 12-weeks of the birth, adoption, 
or foster care or kinship placement of the child. Employees may not use parental leave 
intermittently, unless approved by their agency. If any agency approves intermittent use of 
paid parental leave, the leave must still be used within 12 weeks of the birth, adoption, or 
foster care or kinship placement of the child. 
 
This provision does not bar individuals under the fourth qualifying reason when the 
adoption is not finalized, for whatever reason.  Adoptive parents are not entitled to use 
more than eight (8) weeks of paid parental leave in a rolling 12-month period but are 
exempt from the continuous leave requirement if the adoption is not final. 
 

3. Each week of paid parental leave is compensated at one hundred percent (100%) of the 
employee’s salary at the time of the leave. Paid parental leave will be paid on regularly 
scheduled pay dates. 
 

4. The state will maintain all benefits for employees during the paid parental leave period in 
accordance with any other paid leave such as paid vacation leave or paid sick leave. 
Employees will accrue Credited State Service (CSS) while on paid parental leave. If an 
employee taking paid parental leave is in a probationary status, the employee’s probation 
may be extended the number an equivalent number of CSS hours as the leave taken. 
 

5. Paid parental leave may not be donated to another state employee. 

 
2 Surrogate mothers and sperm donors are excluded from this policy. 
3 The adoption of a new spouse’s child is excluded from this policy. 
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10D. Request and Approval to Use Paid Parental Leave 
 

1. Employees must provide at least 30 days’ notice prior to taking paid parental leave, when 
foreseeable. Notice shall include the anticipated start date and expected duration of the 
leave. In situations where advance notice is not practicable, the employee shall notify the 
agency as soon as feasible. “As soon as feasible” would ordinarily mean the employee 
provides verbal notification to the employer within ten business days of the employee 
knowing of the need for leave.  
  

2. Employees are required to provide legal documentation of the birth, adoption, or foster 
care or kinship placement of a child within 30 days of the birth or adoption or as soon as it 
becomes available.  The employee’s name must be included as a legal parent on the birth 
certificate, a legal document establishing paternity, a legal document establishing 
adoption, or a legal document establishing foster care or kinship placement. Situations 
where a legal document cannot be provided within the required timeframe, or a reasonable 
time thereafter, will be considered on a case-by-case basis by human resources.  
 

3. Agencies shall provide a determination to the employee regarding their request to use 
leave within 5 business days. 
 

4. Paid parental leave may not be utilized if it will result in excess of the employee’s normally 
scheduled workweek. For example, if a full-time employee plans to work a reduced work 
schedule but then works in excess of what was planned, the employee is required to 
reduce the number of parental leave hours coded during that workweek. That unused paid 
parental leave can still be used within 12 weeks after the birth, adoption, or foster care or 
kinship placement of a child. 
 

5. Employees working for agencies utilizing Luma WFM shall use the following Paid Parental 
Leave codes: 
 

• FMP – FMLA Paid Parental Leave 

• PAR – Paid Parental Leave 
 
Employees working for agencies that do not use Luma WFM, should contact their 
respective payroll office to discuss proper coding of Paid Parental Leave. 

 

10E. Use in Conjunction with Other Leave Types 
 

1. Family and Medical Leave Act. Paid parental leave shall run concurrently with leave 
under the FMLA, as applicable. Any leave taken under this policy that falls under the 
definition of circumstances qualifying for leave due to the birth, adoption, or foster care or 
kinship placement of a child, will be counted toward the 12 weeks of available FMLA leave 
per a 12-month period. An employee will be eligible for paid parental leave even if the 
employee has otherwise exhausted their FMLA time. If an employee becomes eligible for 
FMLA while on paid parental Leave, the employee must apply for and use FMLA.  
 

2. Accrued Leave Benefits. Employees may utilize accrued sick, vacation, and 
compensatory leave in accordance with those respective policies. Any leave taken under 
this policy that falls under the definition of circumstances qualifying for leave due to the 
birth, adoption, or foster care or kinship placement of a child, will be counted toward the 12 



PAID PARENTAL LEAVE POLICY DHR REV. DATE 8/2024 Page 4 of 5 

weeks of available FMLA leave per a 12-month period. 
 

3. Unpaid Leave. Unpaid leave may be considered in accordance with FMLA and other 
applicable federal and state laws. 
 

4. Short-Term Disability. Employees should contact the Office of Group Insurance for 
information about short-term disability benefits. 
 

5. Donated Leave. Employees are not eligible to receive donated leave while they are 
receiving paid parental leave but are eligible if parental paid leave is exhausted or not 
otherwise available4. 
 

6. Qualifying Event During Seasonal Break in Appointment. Eligible partial-year 
employees (such as faculty at institutions of higher education or seasonal employees of 
other agencies), who experience a qualifying event during a seasonal break in their 
appointment, are eligible for paid parental leave once they resume their active 
appointment status, for the remaining balance of time that remains in the 12 weeks since 
the qualifying event. For example, a partial year employee that has a birth, adoption, or 
foster care or kinship placement of a child 8 weeks prior to the resumption of their active 
appointment, will be eligible for 4 weeks of paid parental leave, as 4 weeks of paid leave 
eligibility remains in the 12-week period since the birth or adoption. 
 

7. Other Leave Types.  
 

a. If a holiday occurs while an employee is on paid parental leave, that day will be 
coded to holiday pay and will not count towards the employee’s paid parental leave 
entitlement or FMLA hours. 
 

b. If the employee is on paid parental leave when the state authorizes paid 
administrative leave due to inclement weather and/or an office closure, that time 
will be recorded as paid parental leave. Administrative leave will not extend the 
paid parental leave entitlement. 

 

10F. Effect of Separation on Leave 
 

1. Upon separation of an employee’s employment with the state, he or she will not be paid for 
any unused paid parental leave for which he or she was eligible. 
 

2. If an employee transfers to another state agency while on paid parental leave, the 
employee shall be eligible to use the remaining hours available to them at their new 
agency. 
 

10G. Effect of Leave on Probation Status 
 
Employees who are on entrance or promotional probation while taking paid parental leave may 
have their probationary hours extended equivalent to the amount of paid parental leave taken. 
Agencies must initiate a probation extension action through the Luma system immediately upon 
paid parental leave approval. 

 
4 See the Statewide Donated leave Policy for eligibility requirements. 

https://dhr.idaho.gov/wp-content/uploads/STATEWIDE_POLICIES/DHR-06_Donated-Leave.pdf
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10H. Tracking and Reporting 
 

Agencies are responsible for reviewing employee requests to take paid parental leave, 
approving or denying those requests, collecting and filing necessary documentation to support 
each request, monitoring the hours used, and ensuring timesheets are appropriately coded. 


