
 

Guide to Idaho Labor Laws 

GUIDE TO IDAHO LABOR LAWS 

The Idaho Department of Labor’s Wage and Hour Section is re-

sponsible for enforcing the state of Idaho’s wage and hour laws, 

which include the state minimum wage and wage payment laws. 

Effective in 2003, we also administer the licensing provisions of 

the state farm labor contractor licensing law. 

This guide provides general information about federal and 

state labor laws. It is for informational purposes only and is 

not a substitute for the law. The federal Fair Labor Stand-

ards Act can be found at Title 29 United States Code, Chap-

ter 8. State law regarding minimum wage requirements can 

be found at Title 44, Chapter 15, Idaho Code; and state law 

regarding the payment of wages can be found at Title 45, 

Chapter 6, Idaho Code. The farm labor contractor licensing 

law may be found at Title 44, Chapter 16, Idaho Code. If 

legal advice is required, an attorney should be contacted. 

MINIMUM WAGE 

Unless specifically exempt, all employees subject to the 

provisions of the Idaho Minimum Wage Law must be paid at 

least $7.25 per hour effective July 24, 2009. The federal 

minimum wage increased to $7.25 per hour effective the 

same date.  

A “TIPPED EMPLOYEE” means any employee engaged in an 

occupation in which the employee customarily and regularly 

receives more than $30 a month in tips. 

To determine the wage of tipped employees, an employee’s 

tips combined with the employer’s cash wage must equal 

the minimum hourly wage. If it doesn’t, the employer must 

make up the difference. It is the employer’s burden to 

demonstrate the amount of tips actually received by the 

employee. 

Any portion of tips paid to an employee, which is shared 

with other employees under a tip pooling or similar arrange-

ment, shall not be deemed, for the purpose of this section, 

to be tips actually received by the employee; therefore, only 

the portion of tips actually retained by the employee may be 

counted toward the tip credit. 

The minimum tipped wage in Idaho is $3.35 per hour effec-

tive July 24, 2007. 

It is important to note that the Idaho Minimum Wage Law 

applies to all Idaho employers unless they meet the specific 

exemptions under Idaho Code §44-1504. 

 

Even though businesses come under the exemptions for 

paying minimum wage by meeting the dollar volume test of 

the Fair Labor Standards Act, they are still subject to the 

provisions of the Idaho Minimum Wage Law. 

New employees under 20 years of age may be paid $4.25 

per hour during their first 90 consecutive calendar days of 

employment with an employer. 

EXEMPTIONS FROM THE IDAHO MINIMUM WAGE LAW 

Idaho’s Minimum Wage Law does not apply to any employ-

ee employed in a bona fide executive, administrative or 

professional capacity; to anyone engaged in domestic ser-

vice; to any individual employed as an outside salesman; to 

seasonal employees of a nonprofit camping program; or to 

any child under the age of 16 years working part-time or at 

odd jobs not exceeding four hours per day with any one  

employer; or any individual employed in agriculture if: such 

employee is the parent, spouse, child or other member of 

his employer’s immediate family; or such employee is older 

than 16 years of age and is employed as a harvest laborer 

and is paid on a piece-rate basis in an operation which has 

been, and is customarily and generally recognized as hav-

ing been paid on a piece-rate basis in the region of employ-

ment, and commutes daily from his permanent residence to 

the farm on which he is so employed, and has been em-

ployed in agriculture less than 13 weeks during the preced-

ing calendar year; or such employee is 16 years of age or 

under and is employed as a harvest laborer, is paid on a 

piece-rate basis in an operation which has been, and is cus-

tomarily and generally recognized as having been paid on a 

piece-rate basis in the region of employment, and is em-

ployed on the same farm as his parent or person standing 

in place of his parent, and is paid at the same piece-rate 

basis as employees over the age of 16 years are paid on 

the same farm; or such employee is principally engaged in 

the range production of livestock. 

It should be noted that the federal Fair Labor Standards 

Act does not contain the same exemptions for minimum 

wage as noted in the Idaho State Exemptions for  

Minimum Wage. Employers should check with the U.S. 

Department of Labor before using minimum wage  

exemptions. 
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WHO IS COVERED UNDER THE FEDERAL OVERTIME AND 

MINIMUM WAGE PROVISIONS OF THE FAIR LABOR 

STANDARDS ACT 

All employees of certain enterprises having workers en-

gaged in interstate commerce; producing goods for inter-

state commerce; or handling, selling or otherwise working 

on goods or materials that have been moved in or produced 

for such commerce by any person, are covered by the Fair 

Labor Standards Act. A covered enterprise is the related 

activities performed through unified operation or common 

control by any person or persons for a common business 

purpose and  

(1) whose annual gross volume of sales made or business 

done is not less than $500,000, exclusive of excise 

taxes at the retail level that are separately stated; or 

(2) is engaged in the operation of a hospital, an institution 

primarily engaged in the care of the sick, the aged or 

the mentally ill who reside on the premises; a school 

for mentally or physically disabled or gifted children; a 

pre-school; an elementary or secondary school; or an 

institution of higher education, whether operated for 

profit or not for profit; or  

(3) is an activity of a public agency. 

Employees of firms which are not covered enterprises under 

the federal law still may be subject to its minimum wage, 

overtime pay and child labor provisions if they are individu-

ally engaged in interstate commerce or in the production of 

goods for interstate commerce or in any closely-related pro-

cess or occupation directly essential to such production. 

Such employees include those who work in communications 

or transportation; regularly use the mail, telephones or tele-

graph for interstate communication or keep records of inter-

state transactions; handle, ship or receive goods moving in 

interstate commerce; regularly cross state lines in the 

course of employment; work for independent employers 

who contract to do clerical, custodial, maintenance or other 

work for firms engaged in interstate commerce; or work in 

the production of goods for interstate commerce. 

Domestic service workers such as day workers, housekeep-

ers, chauffeurs, cooks or full-time babysitters are covered if 

(1) their cash wages from one employer are at least $1,000 

in a calendar year (or the amount designated pursuant to 

an adjustment provision in the Internal Revenue Code), or 

(2) they work a total of more than eight hours a week for 

one or more employer. 

OVERTIME 

In accordance with the federal act and except as hereinafter 

otherwise provided, no employer shall employ any employee 

longer than 40 hours in a workweek consisting of seven 

consecutive 24-hour periods unless such employee receives 

compensation for the employment in excess of 40 hours at 

a rate not less than 1 1/2 times the employee’s regular rate 

of pay. 

Workweek: A workweek is a period of 168 hours during 

seven consecutive 24-hour periods. It may begin on any day 

of the week and any hour of the day established by the em-

ployer. For the purpose of overtime payment, each work-

week stands alone; there can be no averaging of two or 

more workweeks. 

COMPUTING OVERTIME FOR SALARIED EMPLOYEES 

Unless specifically exempt under the provisions of the feder-

al law, salaried employees must be paid time and one-half 

for all hours worked in excess of 40 hours in a workweek. 

The following are examples of exemptions which are illustra-

tive but not all-inclusive. These examples do not define the 

conditions for each exemption. 

FLSA EXEMPTIONS FROM BOTH MINIMUM WAGE AND 

OVERTIME PAY 

(1) Executive, administrative and professional employees 

including teachers and academic administrative per-

sonnel in elementary and secondary schools, outside 

sales employees and employees in certain computer-

related occupations as defined in Department of La-

bor regulations; 

(2) Employees of certain seasonal amusement or recrea-

tional establishments, employees of certain small 

newspapers, seamen employed on foreign vessels, 

employees engaged in fishing operations and employ-

ees engaged in newspaper delivery; 

(3) Farm workers employed by anyone who used no more 

than 500 man-days of farm labor in any calendar 

quarter of the preceding calendar year; 

(4) Casual babysitters and persons employed as com-

panions to the elderly or infirm. 

FLSA EXEMPTIONS FROM OVERTIME PAY 

(1) Certain commissioned employees of retail or service 

establishments; auto, truck, trailer, farm implement, 

boat or aircraft salesworkers; parts clerks and me-

chanics servicing autos, trucks or farm implements 

who are employed by nonmanufacturing establish-

ments primarily engaged in selling these items to 

ultimate purchasers; 
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(2) Employees of railroads and air carriers, taxi drivers, 

certain employees of motor carriers, seamen on Amer-

ican vessels and local delivery employees paid on 

approved trip rate plans; 

(3) Announcers, news editors and chief engineers of cer-

tain nonmetropolitan broadcasting stations; 

(4) Domestic service workers living in the employer’s resi-

dence; 

(5) Employees of motion picture theaters; and 

(6) Farm workers. 

FLSA PARTIAL EXEMPTIONS FROM OVERTIME PAY 

(1) Partial overtime pay exemptions apply to employees 

engaged in certain operations on agricultural com-

modities and to employees of certain bulk petroleum 

distributors. 

(2) Hospitals and residential care establishments may 

adopt, by agreement with their employees, a 14-day 

work period instead of the usual seven-day workweek 

if the employees are paid at least time and one-half 

their regular rates for hours worked over eight in a day 

or 80 in a 14-day work period, whichever is the great-

er number of overtime hours. 

(3) Employees who lack a high school diploma, or who 

have not attained the educational level of the 8th 

grade, can be required to spend up to 10 hours in a 

workweek engaged in remedial reading or training in 

other basic skills without receiving time and one-half 

overtime pay for these hours. However, the employees 

must receive their normal wages for hours spent in 

such training and the training must not be job specif-

ic. 

For information about the Fair Labor Standards Act and the 

federal minimum wage, contact:  

Northern Idaho 

 U. S. Department of Labor 

 ESA, Wage and Hour Division 

 P. O. Box 1282 

 Spokane, WA  99210 

 Phone  (509) 353-2793 

Southwestern and Eastern Idaho 

 U. S. Department of Labor 

 ESA, Wage and Hour Division 

 1150 N. Curtis Road, Suite 202 

 Boise, ID 83706 

 Phone (208) 321-2987, or  

 (503) 326-3057 (Portland, OR) 

 FAX:  (208) 321-2991 

 See FLSA website  

CHILD LABOR PROVISIONS 

Idaho Child Labor Laws are found under Idaho Code §44-

1301 through §44-1308. Violations of the Idaho Child Labor 

Laws should be brought to the attention of the probation 

officer or the school trustees in the county where the viola-

tions occur. 

For businesses that fall under the coverage of the Fair Labor 

Standards Act, the Child Labor Laws are generally enforced 

by the U.S. Department of Labor. Federal Child Labor Laws 

are designed to protect the educational opportunities of mi-

nors and prohibit their employment in jobs and under condi-

tions detrimental to their health or well-being. The provisions 

include restrictions on hours of work for minors under 16 

years of age and list hazardous occupations for both farm 

and nonfarm jobs declared by the Secretary of Labor as be-

ing too dangerous for minors to perform. Further information 

on prohibited occupations is available from the U.S. Depart-

ment of Labor offices listed previously. 

LEARNER/APPRENTICE CERTIFICATES 

A special certificate allowing employment at sub-minimum 

wage may be allowed under certain circumstances. This cer-

tificate must be obtained from the director of the Idaho De-

partment of Labor before a subminimum wage can be paid. 

IDAHO LAW DOES NOT REQUIRE 

• Vacation, holiday, severance or sick pay 

• A discharge notice or a reason for discharge 

• Rest periods, breaks, lunch breaks, holidays off or va-

cations 

• Premium pay rates for weekends or holidays worked 

• Pay raises or fringe benefits 

• A limit on the number of hours an employee can work 

per day or week for employees 16 years of age or older 

These items are matters for agreement between the employ-

er and the employee or their authorized representative. If 

there is any change in a policy that is in effect, the employee 

must be notified prior to the change. 

RECORD KEEPING 

Employee records should be kept for a minimum of three 

years. The records do not have to be kept in any particular 

form and time clocks need not be used. These records 

should include:  

• Personal information, including employee’s name, 

home address, occupation, sex and date of birth if un-

der 19 years of age 

• Hour and day when workweek begins 

• Total hours worked each workday and each workweek 

• Total daily or weekly straight time earnings 

• Regular hourly pay rate 

• Total overtime pay for each workweek 

file:///C:/Users/jcullen/Documents/100-patterns.zip
https://legislature.idaho.gov/statutesrules/idstat/Title44/T44CH13/
https://legislature.idaho.gov/statutesrules/idstat/Title44/T44CH13/
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• Deductions from wages 

• Total wages paid each pay period 

• Date of payment of wages and pay period covered 

Hours worked:  Employees must be paid for all hours worked 

in a workweek. In general, hours worked includes all time an 

employee must be on duty, on the employer’s premises or at 

any other prescribed place of work. Also included is any addi-

tional time that an employee is suffered or permitted to 

work. 

WAGE PAYMENT LAW 

Idaho Code §45-606 through §45-617: 

1.  Upon layoff or termination by either the employer or the 

employee, all wages due must be paid to the employee 

the earlier of the next regularly scheduled payday or 

within 10 days of termination, weekends and holidays 

excluded. If the employee makes a written request for 

earlier payment of his wages, all wages then due must 

be paid within 48 hours, excluding weekends and holi-

days. Idaho Code §45-606. 

2. Unless exempt from the minimum wage requirements of 

Idaho’s Minimum Wage Law, employees who are not 

being paid on an hourly or salary basis must be paid at 

least the applicable minimum wage for all hours worked 

in the pay period immediately preceding layoff or termi-

nation from employment. The minimum wage payment 

shall be made within the same time limitations provided 

for in Idaho Code §45-606. 

3. If an employer fails to pay all wages due as required by 

law, that employer may be subject to penalties in the 

amount of wages equal to the employee’s regular wage 

rate, as if he rendered service in the manner as last em-

ployed, for every day that the employer is in default up to 

15 days, and a maximum of $750.00. Idaho Code §45-

607. 

4.  Every employer shall pay all wages due to its employees 

at least once during each calendar month on regular 

paydays designated in advance. The end of a pay period 

for which payment is made on a regular pay period shall 

not be more than 15 days before such regular payday. 

Idaho Code §45-608. 

5.  If the regular payday falls on a non-workday, payment 

shall be made on the preceding workday. Idaho Code 

§45-608. 

6. No employer shall withhold or divert any portion of an 

employee’s wages unless: a) the employer is required or 

empowered to do so by state or federal law; or b) the 

employer has written authorization from the employee 

for deductions for a lawful purpose. Idaho Code §45-

609. 

7.  Employers shall furnish each employee with a written 

statement of deductions made from his or her wages for 

each pay period such deductions are made. Idaho Code 

§45-609. 

8.  Every employer shall notify his or her employees at the 

time of hire of their rate of pay and regularly scheduled 

payday. Idaho Code §45-610. 

9.  Every employer shall notify his or her employees of any 

reduction in their rates of pay prior to the work being 

performed. Idaho Code §45-610. 

10.  When there is a dispute over the amount of wages due 

an employee, the employer shall pay the undisputed 

portion without condition. Idaho Code §45-611. 

11.  The acceptance by an employee of a check for wages 

when there is any restrictive endorsement written on the 

check shall not constitute a release with respect to the 

disputed amount. Idaho Code §45-611. 

12. Claims for wages filed with the Idaho Department of La-

bor are limited by the same dollar amount as the small 

claims department of the Magistrate Division of the Dis-

trict Court. Idaho Code §45-617. 

13. No employer shall discharge an employee or in any man-

ner retaliate against an employee for asserting their 

rights under the Wage Payment Act and Minimum Wage 

Law. Idaho Code §45-613. 

14. It is a misdemeanor criminal offense for an employee to 

make a false claim for wages. Idaho Code §45-612. 

Wage claims can be filed online on the Labor website. If you 

have questions regarding the wage payment law, call any of 

the Idaho Department of Labor offices. For a listing, see our 

online office directory . 

OTHER ISSUES 

Questions regarding discrimination due to race, color, handi-

cap, age, sex, national origin or religion should be addressed 

to:  

 Idaho Human Rights Commission 

 317 W. Main St. 

 2nd Floor 

 Boise, ID 83735-0660 

 Phone: (208) 334-2873 or  

 Toll free: (888) 249-7025 

 Web: humanrights.idaho.gov 

 

https://www.labor.idaho.gov/dnn/Businesses/Idaho-Labor-Laws/W-H-Frequently-Asked-Questions-FAQs#10
https://www.labor.idaho.gov/dnn/Local-Office-Directory
http://humanrights.idaho.gov
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Questions regarding accidents occurring on the job or work-

ers compensation benefits should be addressed to:  

 Idaho Industrial Commission 

 700 So. Clearwater Lane 

 Boise, ID 83712 or 

 P.O. Box 83720 

 Boise, ID 83720-0041 

 Phone: (208) 334-6000 or  

 Toll free: (800) 950-2110 

 Web:  iic.idaho.gov 

Questions regarding unemployment compensation and tax 

coverage should be addressed to your local Idaho Depart-

ment of Labor office. For a listing of locations, see our Web 

site at http://labor.idaho.gov. 

FARM LABOR CONTRACTOR LICENSING 

A farm labor contractor is any individual or business entity 

that for money or other compensation recruits, solicits, hires, 

employs, furnishes or transports migrant or seasonal farm 

workers. 

Farm labor contractors must:  (1) be licensed by the Idaho 

Department of Labor and pay an annual licensing fee; (2) 

post a surety bond to cover unpaid wages; (3) carry auto in-

surance for all vehicles used in the farm labor contracting 

business; (4) carry workers’ compensation coverage for all 

employees; and (5) provide all employees at the time of hiring 

full disclosure about the conditions of employment including 

the rate of pay, the benefits to be furnished by the farm labor 

contractor and all expenses that may be deducted from the 

farm worker’s wages. 

Some farm labor contractors are exempt from the require-

ments of Idaho’s Farm Labor Contractor Licensing Law. Be-

cause exemptions are narrowly defined, a farm labor contrac-

tor should carefully review the exemptions contained in Idaho 

Code §44-1602. 

Farmers who use an Idaho Department of Labor licensed 

farm labor contractor will not be held jointly liable under Ida-

ho law for any wages left unpaid by a farm labor contractor. 

The licensed farm labor contractor will remain the farm work-

ers’ employer and will be solely responsible for the payment 

of their wages. 

VIOLATIONS ― PENALTY 

Idaho Code §44-1616 (1) Any person who intentionally defac-

es, alters or changes a farm labor contractor license, or who 

uses the license of another, or who knowingly permits anoth-

er person to use his license or acts as a farm labor contractor 

without a license shall be guilty of a misdemeanor, punisha-

ble by a fine not to exceed one thousand dollars ($1,000), or 

up to sixty (60) days in jail or both. Each violation shall consti-

tute a separate offense. 

(2) Any person who violates any other provision of this chap-

ter shall be guilty of a misdemeanor, punishable by a fine not 

to exceed three hundred dollars ($300), or up to thirty (30) 

days in jail or both. Each violation shall constitute a  

separate offense. 

The information provided in this publication, is from the Idaho Department of Labor's Wage & Hour Division. It is provided 

solely for educational and informational purposes and does not constitute legal advice. The statements expressed may 

change depending upon the inclusion or exclusion of additional facts or background information. If you require legal advice, 

you are encouraged to consult an attorney who is actively engaged in the practice of law and who is admitted to the bar in 

your jurisdiction or the Idaho State bar association. 

Rev. 7/2014 

http://iic.idaho.gov
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BOISE AREA OFFICE  

317 W. Main St. 

Boise, ID  83735-0030 

Phone:  (208) 332-3579 ext. 3506 

Fax: (208) 639-3257 

 

SOUTHERN & CENTRAL IDAHO 

Mini-Cassia / Burley Local Office 

127 W. Fifth St. N. 

Burley, ID  83318-3457 

Phone:  (208) 332-3579 ext. 3128 

Fax: (208) 639-3257 

 

SOUTHWESTERN IDAHO 

Canyon County Local Office 

4514 Thomas Jefferson St. 

Caldwell, ID  83605-5100 

Phone: (208) 332-3579 ext. 3195 

Fax: (208) 639-3257 

 

EASTERN IDAHO 

Pocatello Local Office 

430 N. Fifth Ave. 

Pocatello, ID  83205-4087 

Phone:  (208) 332-3579 ext. 3659 

Fax: (208) 639-3257 

 

NORTHERN IDAHO 

Kootenai County Local Office 

600 N. Thornton St. 

Post Falls, ID 83854  

Phone: (208) 332-3579 ext. 3978 

Fax: (208) 639-3257  

 

Program Supervisor 

Phone:  (208) 332-3579 ext. 3659 

Email: Artie.Holmes@labor.idaho.gov 

IDAHO DEPARTMENT OF LABOR WAGE AND HOUR SECTION — WEB PAGE — 1 (800) 843-3193 

mailto:Artie.Holmes@labor.idaho.gov
https://www.labor.idaho.gov/dnn/Businesses/Idaho-Labor-Laws

