Idaho Division of Human Resources

Executive Branch Statewide Policy Section 13: Workers' Compensation Peace Officer Addendum

Peace Officer employees who are injured on the job may qualify for benefits under one (1) of the following statutes, but in no situation shall they qualify for both simultaneously:

PERSONNEL SYSTEM – Idaho Code §67-5340

- 1. Must be a Peace Officer as defined in Idaho Code §59-1303;
- 2. Must be employed by the State of Idaho when the injury occurred;
- 3. Must be deemed physically disabled as a result of a serious work injury;
 - a. Renders the peace officer incapable of performing the assigned duties of their permanent position.
- 4. Injury must have been induced by a second party;
 - a. Negligent, malicious, or intentional acts or omissions of another person during a chargeable misdemeanor or felony.

PROCESS

- 1. For the first 52 weeks, the employer is required to pay the employee's full base salary plus all benefits.
- 2. After 52 weeks, the employer is only obligated to pay the employee's full base salary.

WORKERS' COMPENSATION - Idaho Code §72-11041

- 1. Peace Officer, as defined as an employee of a state agency who has the duty to arrest, including prevention and detection of crime and enforcement of penal/traffic laws;
- 2. Must be injured while performing job duties, including;
 - a. Responding to an emergency
 - b. In pursuit of a suspect
 - c. Caused by the actions of another
- 3. Is deemed temporarily incapacitated from performing their duties; and
- 4. Qualifies for Workers' Compensation wage loss benefits.

PROCESS

1. During the period of disability, the employer is required to pay the employee's full base salary.

¹ Applies only to employees of the Idaho State Police and Idaho Department of Fish and Game.