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Idaho Division of Human Resources 
Executive Branch Statewide Policy 

Section 3: Sick Leave 
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3A. General Information 

 
Employees shall earn sick leave and be eligible to take sick leave in accordance with Idaho 
Code §67-5333, 59-1603, 59-1605, and IDHR Rule 240. 

 
3B. Eligibility 

 
Employees must meet the criteria to qualify as eligible for benefits in order to accrue or use 
sick leave. Some employees are ineligible for sick leave, such as: 

 
• Employees who regularly work less than 20 hours per week; or 
• Employees who are in non-pay status (i.e. on unpaid leave of absence); or 
• Temporary employees who are hired to work less than five months, regardless of 

number of hours worked per week. 

An employee who is originally not expected to work five months but who does so is entitled to 
receive sick leave benefits retroactively in accordance with the above accrual rates.: 

 
3C. Accrual 

 
Sick leave shall accrue at the rate of .04615 hours per hour worked or paid (with the 
exception of paid compensatory leave). 

 
To calculate your sick leave accrual in any one pay period, take the number of hours paid to 
you (excluding compensatory time taken) and multiply it by 0.04615. For example, an 
employee who works 80 hours (ACT) in a pay period earns 3.692 hours of sick leave 
(calculated by multiplying 80 by 0.04615). 

 
Employees earn sick leave while on paid leave except with compensatory time off. 

Sick leave accrues without limit. 

https://legislature.idaho.gov/statutesrules/idstat/Title67/T67CH53/SECT67-5333/
https://legislature.idaho.gov/statutesrules/idstat/Title59/T59CH16/SECT59-1603/
https://legislature.idaho.gov/statutesrules/idstat/Title59/T59CH16/SECT59-1605/
https://adminrules.idaho.gov/rules/current/15/150401.pdf
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3D. Use of Sick Leave 
 
Employees must meet the eligibility criteria, per section 3B, in order to use sick leave. Sick 
leave may only be used in cases of the employee’s actual illness or disability or other health 
reasons necessitating the employee’s absence from work or Employee Assistance Program 
(EAP) appointments. In addition, an employee may also use sick leave when needed to 
attend to a family member’s medical appointments, serious illness, disability, or death and 
funeral in the family. Eligibility to use sick leave includes self, spouse, child, foster child, 
parent, brother, sister, grandparent, grandchild, or the same relation by marriage or legal 
guardian. (Ref. IDHR Rule 240.03) 

 
When possible, employees are expected to plan time away from work by notifying their 
supervisor in advance prior to the absence. For example, when scheduling a routine doctor’s 
appointment or planned surgery an employee’s supervisor should be consulted. Employees 
must use some type of paid leave for these circumstances (i.e. sick, vacation, or 
compensatory time). 

 
3D1. Limitations on Sick Leave Use. 

 
3D1a. Employees may not use sick leave for time off due to adoption or foster 
care placement unless the child has a medical condition requiring care. 

 
3D1b. Sick leave cannot be used in lieu of vacation leave. If an employee 
exhausts accrued sick leave, the employee must use other accrued leave 
balances prior to the employee receiving leave without pay (unless the 
employee is on approved Family and Medical Leave or absent due to a work- 
related illness or injury). 

 
3D1c. Sick leave cannot be taken in the same pay period in which it is earned. 

 
3D1d. Sick leave may not be utilized if it will result in pay in excess of the 
employee’s normally scheduled workweek. For example, if a full-time employee 
calls in sick on Monday, then works 9 hours per day on Tuesday through 
Friday, that employee’s timesheet would reflect: 

 
 SUN MON TUE WED THUR FRI SAT TOTAL 

ACT   9 9 9 9  36 
SIC  4      4 

 40 
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3D2. Use Parameters for Executive Employees Only. Employees designated as 
Executive shall not use accrued sick leave in less than half day increments. For 
example, if an Executive employee works for 6 hours, and takes the remainder of that 
day off due to a qualifying illness, no accrued sick leave is used. Conversely, if an 
Executive employee works for 2 hours, and takes the remainder of the day off due to a 
qualifying illness, then 6 hours of accrued sick leave is used. 

 
3D3. Managing Sick Leave. Patterns or excessive absences can negatively impact 
individual performance and the Agency’s services. Therefore, a supervisor who 
suspects an employee is abusing sick leave may (Ref. IDHR Rule 240.07): 

 
• Require the employee to provide a doctor's note justifying the absence; or 

 
• Investigate an employee’s suspected sick leave abuse and address any misuse 

or abuse as necessary. 
 

3D3a. Any employee who is on approved sick leave and is found to be working 
at another job, or is otherwise misusing sick leave, shall be subject to 
disciplinary action up to and including dismissal. 

 
3E. Inability to Return from Medical Leave 

 
Employees off work due to their own or a family member’s illness or injury are required to 
keep the Agency informed as to their health status and intent to return. During that time 
period, sick leave or other accrued leaves may be used. 

 
3E1. Required Physician Notes. During the employee’s medical leave, the Agency 
may require updated physicians’ statements regarding the employee’s expected date 
of return to work. 

 
3E2. Employee Unable to Return to Work. If an employee is unable to return to his 
regular work duties (with or without accommodation) after twelve (12) weeks or after 
exhausting accrued sick leave, whichever is longer, the employee will be medically laid 
off. (Ref. IDHR Rule 241.02) 

 
3E1a. Employees may not use leave without pay or time spent in a light or 
alternate duty position, to extend the medical layoff date. 

 
3F: Effect of Transfers on Accrued Sick Leave 

 
Accrued sick leave transfers with employees when they transfer from one State agency to 
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another. 
 
3G: Effect of Separation on Accrued Sick Leave 

 
When an employee leaves State service, all accrued and unused sick leave will be forfeited, 
except as provided in Idaho Code § 67-5333 (i.e., separation due to retirement). 

3G1. Reinstatement of Sick Leave. If an employee returns to credited state service 
within three (3) years of separation, and is rehired into a benefited position, all sick 
leave forfeited at time of separation will be reinstated for the employee to use. [Ref. 
Idaho Code § 67-5333(1c)] 
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