
 

 

DHR SPRING FORUM 
Thursday, May 14, 2020 

φȡττ ÐȢÍȢ ɀ ωȡττ ÐȢÍȢ ȿ 6ÉÒÔÕÁÌ 6ÉÁ :ÏÏÍ  
 

 

2:00 p.m. – 2:15 p.m. Welcome 

Susan E. Buxton, Esq., $(2 !ÄÍÉÎÉÓÔÒÁÔÏÒ 

2:15 p.m. – 2:30 p.m. Office of Group Insurance Updates 

Danielle Chhabra, /ÆÆÉÃÅ ÏÆ 'ÒÏÕÐ )ÎÓÕÒÁÎÃÅ 

2:30 p.m. – 2:45 p.m. Common Unemployment Insurance Questions & Answers  
Josh McKenna, 5ÎÅÍÐÌÏÙÍÅÎÔ )ÎÓÕÒÁÎÃÅ "ÅÎÅÆÉÔÓ "ÕÒÅÁÕ #ÈÉÅÆ 

2:45 p.m. – 3:00 p.m. Idaho’s Families First Act (Paid Parental Leave) Policy Overview 
Janelle White, $(2 0ÏÌÉÃÙ "ÕÒÅÁÕ #ÈÉÅÆ  

3:00 p.m. – 3:30 p.m. Hiring Trends Pre- and Post-COVID & Recruitment Strategies 

Paul Raspudic, .ÅÏ'ÏÖ 3ÔÒÁÔÅÇÉÃ !ÃÃÏÕÎÔ $ÉÒÅÃÔÏÒ 

Bob Oglesby, .ÅÏ'ÏÖ 3ÔÒÁÔÅÇÉÃ !ÄÖÉÓÏÒ 

3:30 p.m. – 3:45 p.m. Break 

3:45 p.m. – 4:00 p.m. Managing Stress Related to COVID-19 

Ross Edmunds, $(7 "ÅÈÁÖÉÏÒÁÌ (ÅÁÌÔÈ !ÄÍÉÎÉÓÔÒÁÔÏÒ 

4:00 p.m. – 4:15 p.m. Idaho Rebounds: Phase-In Guidance for the State Workforce 

Susan E. Buxton, Esq, $(2 !ÄÍÉÎÉÓÔÒÁÔÏÒ 

4:15 p.m. – 5:00 p.m. Legal Considerations for Employees Returning to the Workplace 

Leslie Hayes, Esq., $ÅÐÕÔÙ !ÔÔÏÒÎÅÙ 'ÅÎÅÒÁÌ 

 

Registration for the forum should be completed by May 12 at 5 p.m. Click here to register: 
https://forms.gle/aK6vH1Ybc7CP4HH77. 

Once registration has closed, you will receive a Zoom meeting invitation closer to the event. 
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Overview
Governor Little’s Executive Order

Executive Branch Agencies

Policy Overview

Questions and Answers



Governor Little’s Executive Order
Executive Order 2020-003: Families First Act
◦ Signed into law January 22, 2020
◦ Effective July 1, 2020
◦ Encourages and fosters strong families as the bedrock of our society and states that bonding between 

parents and children is an essential part of establishing deep connections;
◦ Establishes a goal of retaining an effective workforce by making it possible for families to spend as much 

time as possible with newborn or adopted children in the weeks immediately after they come into the 
family;

◦ States that leaders and managers should encourage flexibility to the extent possible with mothers and 
fathers returning to the workforce as the birth or adoption of a child;

◦ Provides State of Idaho Executive Branch entities to offer eight weeks of paid parental leave to eligible 
employees after the birth or adoption of a child; and,

◦ Encourages other state elected officials, independent commissions, legislature and judiciary to adopt 
comparable policies for their employees.



State of Idaho – Executive Branch

Visit: https://dfm.idaho.gov/citizens/exec_org_chart.pdf for 
an organization chart showing agencies that are in the 
Executive Branch.

https://dfm.idaho.gov/citizens/exec_org_chart.pdf


Policy Overview
◦ General Information

◦ Effective July 1, 2020
◦ Provides 8 weeks of paid parental leave due to the birth of adoption of a child (including surrogacy) 
◦ Runs concurrently with FMLA

◦ Eligibility Criteria
◦ Be a new parent by childbirth; OR 
◦ Be a new adoptive parent of a child under the age of 18; OR 
◦ Be a parent of a child born by a surrogate mothers; OR
◦ Be an individual seeking to adopt a child after the birth of that child, but the adoption has not yet been finalized.
◦ AND
◦ Have been employed with the State of Idaho for at least 12 months during the past 7 years; AND
◦ Have worked at least 1,250 hours during the 12 consecutive months immediately preceding the date of the birth or 

adoption; AND
◦ Be a benefit-eligible employee (work more than 20 hours per week and be expected to work more than 5 months); 



Policy Overview
◦ Use and Compensation of Leave

◦ Eligible employees will receive a maximum of eight weeks in a rolling 12-month period.
◦ Multiple births or adoptions within 12 months do not increase the amount of paid parental leave.
◦ Employees may use the 8 weeks continuously or as a pre-defined reduced work schedule as long as it 

is used within 12 weeks of the birth or adoption of the child. Employees may not use paid parental 
leave intermittently unless approved by their agency. If approved to use intermittently, must be used 
within 12 weeks.

◦ Compensated at 100% of the employee’s salary at the time of the leave.
◦ Benefits are maintained during leave and employees will accrue CSS hours.
◦ Leave may not be donated to another state employee.
◦ Paid parental leave may not be utilized if it will result in an excess of the employee’s normally 

scheduled workweek.



Policy Overview
◦ Request and Approval to Use Paid Parental Leave

◦ Employees must provide at least 30 days’ notice prior to taking leave, when foreseeable. 
◦ Notice shall include start/end date and legal documentation of the birth or adoption within 30 days of 

the birth or adoption or as soon as it becomes available.
◦ Agency shall provide a determination to the employee regarding their request to use leave within 5 

business days.
◦ Use in Conjunction with Other Leave Types

◦ Paid parental leave shall run concurrently with FMLA.
◦ Employees may use other accrued leave in conjunction with paid parental leave. Also, runs concurrent 

with FMLA.
◦ Employees should contact OGI regarding short-term disability eligibility.



Policy Overview
◦ Effect of Separation on Leave

◦ Upon separation of an employee’s employment with the state, they will not be paid for unused paid 
parental leave.

◦ If an employee transfers to another state agency, the employee will be eligible to use the remaining 
hours available to them at their new agency.

◦ Tracking and Reporting
◦ Agencies are responsible for reviewing employee requests for paid parental leave, determining 

eligibility, requesting necessary documentation, approving/denying requests, tracking use and filing 
necessary documentation in the employee’s medical file.



Questions?



























































Idaho Rebounds: Phase-In 
Guidance for the State Workforce

Susan E. Buxton, Esq., DHR Administrator
May 14, 2020



Idaho’s Four 
Stages

• Governor Little has outlined the 
following four stages for Idaho’s 
reopening:

• Stage 1: May 1 - May 15 
• Stage 2: May 16 - May 29
• Stage 3: May 30 – June 12
• Stage 4: June 13 – June 26
• Progression through these stages is 

dependent upon a downward trend or 
low levels of documented COVID-19 
cases reported within each 14-day 
window.



Continuation of Telework

• Stages 1-3 (May 1 – June 12) encourage 
employees to continue to telework as 
much as possible.

• Stage 4 (June 13) allows employers to 
resume unrestricted staffing of 
worksites with physical distancing, 
personal protections and sanitation for 
protection of workers. Special 
accommodations for employees who 
are considered vulnerable should be 
made in the workplace.



Impact of Reopening Plan on State Agencies

• DHR has identified the following goals in reopening State of Idaho agencies:
• Protecting Employees
• Maintaining Healthy Business Operations
• Maintaining a Healthy Work Environment
• Taking Personal Responsibility to Ensure Success of Reopening



Protecting 
Employees

• Actively encourage sick employees to stay home 
• Conduct a thorough hazard assessment to 

determine how employees may be exposed while 
at work

• Separate sick employees from the workplace 
(consult with HR/DHR/legal)

• Take action if an employee is suspected or 
confirmed to have COVID-19

• Educate employees on steps to take to protect 
themselves

• Conduct employee health screenings, as 
appropriate (follow guidance from DHR and 
EEOC)

• Provide personal protective equipment (PPE), 
such as cloth face coverings

• Assess the physical arrangement of workstations
• Return employees to the worksite using a 

measured approach



Maintaining Healthy Business 
Operations

• Communicate workplace policies clearly, frequently and via multiple methods
• Protect employees at higher risk for severe illness through supportive policies and practices

• Determine how you will operate if absenteeism spikes
• Establish policies and practices for social distancing
• Consider how to ensure policies and practices are followed at remote work locations



Maintaining Healthy Work Environment

• Improve engineering controls (i.e., increase ventilation rates, ensure proper ventilation and air 
quality, check filters)

• Provide employees, customers and visitors hand sanitizer, tissues, no-touch trash cans, hand 
soap, etc.

• Place posters that encourage hand hygiene to stop the spread
• Provide routine cleaning of common surfaces
• Perform enhanced cleaning and disinfection after COVID-19 positive cases

• Limit non-essential travel; resume in accordance with state of local regulations and guidance



Taking Personal Responsibility for 
Reopening

We are all in this together and 
everyone plays a role by 
following CDC and DHW 

guidelines for handwashing, 
social distancing, wearing masks, 

keeping work areas clean and 
staying home when sick.

Managers and HR need to ensure 
that employees are adhering to 

established guidelines and 
discussing infractions 

immediately.



Create a 
Phase-In Plan 
for Reopening

• Each agency needs to complete a written 
plan outlining how they will protect 
employees, maintain healthy business 
operations, maintain a healthy work 
environment and ensure adherence to 
policies and procedures.

• Plans must be submitted to each agency’s 
Governor’s Office Liaison and DHR contact 
prior to June 13. Agencies should also submit 
any necessary updates to their COOP plans 
at the same time.



Resources

• Visit the websites established by the Governor’s Office to monitor information 
and communication: coronavirus.Idaho.gov and rebound.Idaho.gov

• DHR will provide a comprehensive guide for agencies to utilize in developing 
their written plans

• Agencies should frequently monitor federal, state, and local public health 
communications about COVID-19 regulations, guidance, and 
recommendations and ensure that workers have access to that information. 
Frequently check the CDC COVID-19 website.



Legal Considerations for Employees 
Returning to the Workplace

Leslie Hayes, Deputy Attorney General
Office of the Attorney General – Civil Litigation Division



Disclaimer

• As the COVID-19 pandemic evolves, the legal analysis will continue to evolve.  
For that reason, you should consult with legal counsel based on the specific 
facts of your situation, including any employment-related decisions.



Overview

• Laws to Consider
• Creating a Return to Work Plan
• What to do When an Employee Tests Positive
• Preventing Pandemic-Related Harassment
• Medical Screening for Employees
• Requests for Leave and/or Accommodations
• Wage and Hour Considerations
• Litigation and Potential Defenses



Laws to Consider

• Americans with Disabilities Act
• Genetic Information Nondiscrimination Act
• Family Medical Leave Act
• Families First Coronavirus Response Act
• Emergency Paid Sick Leave Act
• Title VII of the Civil Rights Act
• Age Discrimination in Employment Act
• Fair Labor Standards Act



Who is Providing Guidance

Federal
CDC

OSHA
EEOC

State
Governor’s Office

DHR
OAG
DHW

Public Health



Return to Work Plans

• Idaho’s Stay Healthy Order
• Telecommute as much as possible until June 13 

(at the earliest)
• Review DHR’s Guidance on Returning Employees to 

Work
• Plans need to be in writing and address:

• Social Distancing
• Cleaning
• PPE
• Training Employees

• Avoid returning all employees at the same time
• May need to make physical modifications to office 

space



Return to Work Plans – When 
an Employee Tests Positive

• Probable or confirmed COVID-19 employees must 
stay home

• Consult with Health District on office closure
• Partial closure or full closure?
• Contact COVID-19 specific cleaning agency

• Identify employees in close contact
• Maintain probable or confirmed COVID-19 

employee’s confidentiality
• Quarantine for 14 days
• Contact medical provider



Return to Work Plans – When an Employee 
Tests Positive

• Notify remaining employees
• There was an exposure onsite
• Individuals that may have been in close contact have been notified
• Other appropriate actions, including COVID-19-specific cleaning, have occurred

• Sample notification will be available



Return to Work Plans – When an 
Employee Tests Positive

• Probable or confirmed COVID-19 employee can return when:
• 10 Days have past since the positive test with no symptoms; or
• Return to Work note provided; or
• Two negative COVID-19 tests (24 hours apart); or
• Employee meets the current CDC guidance for returning to work for employees 

that test positive or do not test
• Consult with DHR and Legal to ensure that employee can safely return



Preventing Pandemic-Related Harassment

• Respectful Workplace Policies and Masks
• Taunting, teasing, or discussing employee confidential health information
• Discrimination on the basis of race or national origin due to fear of COVID-19 will not 

be tolerated



Medical Screening of Employees

• NOT required or recommended at this time by State Epidemiologist or Director of 
Health and Welfare

• Subject to change
• Few exceptions – Example, confined populations

• CAN request voluntary self-screening
• Temperature checks
• COVID-19 screening apps



ADA and FMLA Considerations

• Refusals to return
• Requests for reasonable accommodations
• Requests for leave under FMLA
• Can start the interactive process now



Potential Reasonable Accommodations

• Telecommuting
• Reduced schedule
• Modifying work location
• Modifying work hours
• Unpaid leave
• Providing plexi-glass
• Redistribution of marginal job duties
• Temporary reassignment



Wage and Hour 
Considerations

• Medical screenings of 
employees

• Congested areas (waiting for 
elevator)

• Handwashing breaks
• Additional cleaning
• Time for putting on PPE



Litigation and Potential Defenses

• Failure to engage in the interactive process
• Failure to accommodate
• Employees contracting COVID-19 at work
• Employees claiming employer failed to take necessary precautions



Litigation and Potential Defenses

• Idaho Tort Claims Act
• Qualified Immunity

• Discretionary functions
• Not violating clearly established law



Questions?
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